Paid Sick Leave Law in New Jersey

May 4, 2018

On May 2, 2018, New Jersey joined nine other states and the District of Columbia in passing a law that provides mandatory paid sick leave for most New Jersey employees. Notably, the new Paid Sick Leave Act (the “Act”) preempts all existing and future local paid sick leave ordinances within the state.

The Act applies to all employers in the state of New Jersey, regardless of size. Under the Act, employees accrue up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per year. At the employer’s discretion, leave is either accrued at a rate of one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked or front-loaded upon commencement of employment. Exceptions may exist for certain New Jersey employees covered by a valid collective-bargaining agreement. The new law goes into effect Oct. 29, 2018.

The full text of the law can be found here.

For further information, please contact

The proceeding information is provided for informational purposes only, should not be construed as or relied upon as legal advice and is subject to change without notice. If you have questions concerning particular situations, specific payroll administration or labor relations issues, please contact your counsel.

© © 2021 Cast & Crew.
All rights reserved.

Cast & Crew and its associated logos are trademarks of Cast & Crew Payroll, LLC in the United States and/or other countries. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

2300 Empire Avenue I Burbank, CA 91504