Paid Sick Leave in Michigan
September 25, 2018
On Sept. 5, 2018, the Michigan Senate and House of Representatives voted to approve the Michigan Earned Sick Time Act (the “Act”). The Act provides Michigan employees with paid time off to use for the employee’s own mental or physical illness, injury or health condition; the mental or physical illness, injury or health condition of the employee’s family member; to tend to a situation of domestic violence involving the employee or the employee’s family member, or for a public health emergency. Under the Act, employees accrue sick leave at a rate of one hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked.
Accrual and usage caps differ based on employer size. Employers with 10 or more employees must provide 72 hours of paid sick leave per year. Employers with fewer than 10 employees must provide 40 hours of paid sick leave and 32 hours of unpaid sick leave per year.
The Act is scheduled to go into effect April 1, 2019 but is likely to see amendments before that date.
Additional information on the law can be found here.
If you have any questions, please email Compliance@castandcrew.com.
The proceeding information is provided for informational purposes only, should not be construed as or relied upon as legal advice and is subject to change without notice. If you have questions concerning particular situations, specific payroll administration or labor relations issues, please contact your counsel.