California’s Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 (“California Paid Sick Leave”) Went Into Effect on January 1, 2015.
The Act mandates that all employers provide paid sick leave to their employees. Effective July 1, 2015, employers must begin tracking and accruing time for all employees working in California.
Cast & Crew provides a solution for Cast & Crew-exclusive clients as well as Cast & Crew clients that use multiple payroll providers.
CA paid sick leave flyer
WHAT ARE THE NEW PAID SICK LEAVE REQUIREMENTS?
- An employee who, on or after July 1, 2015, works in California for 30 or more days within a year from the start of employment is entitled to paid sick days
- Employers must accrue one hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked, up to a maximum of 48 hours/six days per year
- Employers may cap the usage at 24 hours, or three days per year
- Employers may impose usage up to a two-hour minimum increment
- Employees will become vested after they have worked for the employer for 30 days and meet a 90-day waiting period from either their date of hire, or January 1, 2015, whichever is later
- Unused, accrued sick time must carry over to the next year
- Employers must keep three years’ worth of records
- There is no required sick leave payout upon termination
WHAT DO EMPLOYERS NEED TO DO?
Employers should fill out our California Sick Time Employer Questionnaire to determine their set-up preferences. Companies using multiple payroll sources may have a requirement to aggregate data to determine accurate sick time accrual. Companies that have a need to aggregate data should complete the form, notify Cast & Crew and provide the file specifications to their other payroll providers. For those companies that have not reached out to Cast & Crew with their requirements, the following will be our default accrual method and we will:
- Accrue at the production company level
- Not aggregate data with other payroll providers
- Begin accrual on July 1, 2015
- Apply accrual to workers in California only
- Accrue one hour for every 30 hours worked
- Not impose a minimum usage
- Not apply benefits to Loan Out corporations
- Apply the 90-day waiting period based on calendar days from date of hire or January 1, whichever is later.
- Not allow the use of sick time prior to eligibility
- Not allow employees to go into negative accrual balances
WHAT ARE THE REQUIREMENTS GOING FORWARD?
Beginning July 1, 2015, all employers must:
- Display the DLSE Paid Sick Leave poster where employees can easily read it
- Provide written notice to the employees upon hire
- Provide the California Wage Theft Protection form to all non-union/non-exempt employees
- Provide notice to union/exempt employees not covered under the California Wage Theft Protection form. *Please note that some collective bargaining agreements may have provisions for other terms and conditions.
- Allow eligible employees to use accrued sick leave upon reasonable request
- Notify employees of available accrued sick leave on their paycheck stub
- Retain accrual and usage records for three years
Cast & Crew is your solution to meet all of these needs.
Identifying/Reporting Sick Time:
When a worker requests sick time, please indicate such time on his or her timecard by writing the word “SICK,” either for the entire day or for the number of hours to be allotted toward sick pay. Cast & Crew’s payroll system will automatically determine whether the employee has met all of the required eligibility criteria and has available time. View sample time cards.
How Employee Vesting Works:
The following graphic depicts how vesting works. Additional eligibility scenarios also are available.